Very Muddy Buddies (Dark Chocolate Lab Chow)

Recipe name inspired by my parent’s bear-dog, Buddy!

When I visited my mother for Christmas last week in Atlanta, fun and games ensued.

We played Nuts! (One of the best card games around. And that’s coming from an Uno master!)
We went to Chick-Fil-A. Twice! (My boyfriend secretly loves it.)
We played Catch Phrase, and I got to watch my stepdad and boyfriend bond over Battlefield 3.
We also made a lot of food. I prepared CCK’s Hot Chocolate Cookies, and these grain-free, sugar-free vegan cookies. One unexpected treat we made were Muddy Buddies: sugar-free, gluten-free and vegan!

At least, mine was. ;)

If you don't mind all the sugar, house vegan made a great vegan version!

If you don’t mind all the sugar, house vegan made a great vegan version!

ingredients

  • 3 cups Corn Chex
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (JUST peanuts and salt, nothing else.)
  • 2T cacao (or carob) powder
  • 1T coconut oil
  • 8 drops liquid stevia (or 1/2tsp powdered)

First, add the peanut butter and coconut oil into a bowl. We microwaved it (time-saver) until melted. You may use the double boiler method for non-microwavers. Once the peanut butter and coconut oil are combined, stir well. Add in drops of stevia, and stir again. Now you are ready to dump in the chex, one cup at a time. Gently fold them into the mixture, stirring to ensure they are all evenly coated.
Prepare a plastic bag with 2 tablespoons of your carob or cacao powder. Pour the wet Chex into the plastic bag. Add 2 (maybe 3) more tablespoons of your chocolatey powder. Seal the bag well. Now shake! Do a dance, toss the bag around and make sure all Chex are covered and muddy.

Pour into a bowl and munch away! I love the interplay between the rich peanut butter, crispy and slightly salty corn chex with the almost fudgey texture from the chocolatey flavor. MMMM!

Side note: This Dark Chocolate Lab Chow is very muddy. It will stick to your fingers, and you are totally allowed to lick it off for more chocolate amazing-ness! However, I know that without a barrier, it can be a pain to have all that coming off of the chex. I wanted to try taking some unsweetened flaked coconut, blending it into a powder, and using that as my replacement for powdered sugar. (The original Muddy Buddy recipe, although terrible for you, has that characteristic white covering.) For now, that will be a future endeavor. If you decide to try it– let me know! :)

What is one recipe you can’t live without modifying? Are there any decadent treats you will never eat fat-free, vegan, ect.?
For me, I think it is a love-hate battle with peanut butter. I can’t modify a good vegan peanut butter ball cookie, or a peanut butter buckeye. It’s just wrong. I have grown a liking for PB2, which isn’t as bad as everyone says it is. I just don’t know.. nothing beats fresh peanut butter.

Leave a Reply

