Koge Cookies – Dark Cranberry & Spiced Cocoa

Meet my blog buddy and trusted furry feline friend, Koge.

My boyfriend and I adopted him last year just after Thanksgiving. When I met him he was sitting by the window while 4 other kittens were playing with each other. He was one of the older cats. My boyfriend went straight for the kittens, and I smiled as he cuddled with them all. Yet something kept me looking at the cat by the window (who was named Jackson at that time). I walked up to him and said, “Hey, little buddy.” He turned around and yawned. I (quite hesitantly) held my hand out to pet him. To the surprise of both of us, he walked right up to me and crawled onto the top of my shoulder. He was so big only his arms and head could make it there, and he nuzzled himself against my face. I looked to my boyfriend, and we both had a face that said this is our cat. But we didn’t take him home that day! We came back a week later and adopted the little guy. Jackson didn’t exemplify his personality or how we saw him, and so his name became Koge (which means “burnt” in Japanese). He has a white heart shape on his belly.

Today’s recipe is inspired entirely by CCK’s Hot Chocolate Cookie recipe. While I was busy making these cookies, however…

Koge kept by me the entire time, curious as to what I was making (or doing, for that matter).

There are two versions: Dark Cranberry, and Spiced Cocoa. The differences are slight:

dark cranberry koge cookies

  • 1 cup of almond meal
  • 3 tablespoons cacao powder, carob powder, or cocoa powder
  • 3 pitted medjool dates
  • Dash of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup raw cacao nibs (or chocolate chips)
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil (solid at room temperature)

I started with a heaping cup of almonds, ground in the food processor until it became a meal. Then I added the rest of the ingredients into the food processor. Run it until all ingredients blend together well and (in some cases) a ball will form. If not, no problem.

Spoon out dough into round shapes and drop onto a cookie sheet. Bake at 355 degrees for no more than 10 minutes (9 minutes was the sweet spot for me). Let these cookies cool before eating. I promise they will be much better that way. The smell will call you, beckon you even, to take a bite. Refuse! Eating these cookies hot does them no justice 🙂

spiced cocoa koge cookies

  • 1 cup of almond meal
  • 3 tablespoons cacao powder, carob powder, or cocoa powder
  • 3 pitted medjool dates
  • Dash of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 cup raw cacao nibs (or chocolate chips)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil (solid at room temperature)

Pro tip: Refridgerate some of these puppies overnight. They make great chocolate-craving snacks straight from the fridge 😉

Koge Cookies – Dark Cranberry & Spiced Cocoa

One thought on “Koge Cookies – Dark Cranberry & Spiced Cocoa

Leave a Reply

