6 Rules for LIFE

Whole Living, a magazine I’ve grown fondly for, introduced their January issue with a Detox plan that will get your body in shape for the new year.

There is a list of 6 things you should cut during this period, and I’d like to share them with you.
I’d also like to tell you why it would be beneficial to cut these for life, not just for detoxing.

processed food & drink

This one is a tough one, yet it is vital for health and longevity. Almost anything in a bag or package is processed. Use your common sense: if it needs a food label with ingredients, it’s probably best to avoid it.

added sugars

Sugar is everywhere. Our bodies are relatively new acquaintances with this food, and most likely still learning how to properly digest and utilize it. Not to mention the dozens of health issues linked to consumption of sugars; refined or not.

dairy

About 75% of adults have lowered lactase levels, and this means that our ability to digest lactose lessens as we age. Your digestive system deserves a break!

gluten

It’s been surfacing in the news and mainstream media this year for a reason. Celiac disease and gluten intolerance may be a result of evolutionary changes in our digestive tracts, or a reaction to the mass production of gluten grains (GMOs, ect.). Either way, replace bread with rice and chips with popping corn. There are many foods that are carbohydrates and free of this troublesome protein.

caffeine

Whole Living states, “It’s a false energy booster that can mask lack of sleep[…]coffee is also highly acidic, which makes it tough for the digestive system.” If you’re like me, and have suffered enough switching from caffeinated to decaffeinated coffee, try chai tea or earl grey tea. They are both rich, earthy teas that will give a little caffeine and big flavor. (They both go great with a little almond or coconut milk!)

alcohol

This is a processed food whether you’d like to admit it or not. For this reason alone, I have cut my consumption of it to a half glass of wine once monthly (even bi-monthly). Your liver does not need more stress from having to refine and digest this stuff, as well as your waistline. It is the most calorically dense food per gram!

It can be very easy to talk about how each of these things is bad for you and why you should avoid or completely eliminate them from your life. There’s a completely different feeling associated with living each of these truths. Even if just one or two really stand out to you, every step toward wellness is a step toward a longer life and happiness!

What are your healthy living “pitfalls?” Do you have any health goals?

I feel like my pitfall is eating too much of the “healthy junk food.” I will make a batch of no sugar, no filler and low calorie chocolate but end up eating more of it than I should. I suppose my health goal is to get a handle on portions and make sure I am compensating when I overdo it.

6 Rules for LIFE

3 thoughts on “6 Rules for LIFE

  1. I hear you about eating more of the healthy food because you think it won’t matter. I just ate 3 Greek gluten free almond cookies… 3… Really no need but they were delicious!

  2. Thanks for the tips; I got this magazine – this past holiday – for my mother.It has a lot of great information in it. Great post and I’m looking forward to sharing more with you:)

  3. Julie says:

    Wow, I’m glad you shared your blog site on MFP. I LOVE it! Thanks for the tips. These are things I’ve also been reading up on and I agree with you about how important it is to take care of our digestive system. I had IBS for over 20 years and followed traditional doctors wisdom… gave up. Since I’ve cleaned up what I eat (from processed foods, etc…) I have a normal digestive process… something I haven’t known in half my life!

Leave a Reply

