My First Time: Chocolate Tasting

Today, my friends, is a day for chocolate.
Here, in Seattle, Chocolate Box is a cafe that specializes in selling the world’s most delectable, delicious chocolates and anything that compliments it. You name it, Chocolate Box will likely have it (or order it). There is a small area for wine tasting and chocolate pairing, as well as a selection of pastries, cakes, and brownies (even gluten free). Their mochas and espresso are heavenly. To top it all off, Seattle’s own Molly Moon’s ice cream is sold there!

The month of February is Chocolate Box’s hot chocolate celebration period, where each day a different flavor of hot chocolate is offered. Here’s the full calendar with each flavor— I’m excited for Elvis Day. Friday was “Lemon Pucker Up,” so my boyfriend and I decided to give it a go. We were pleasantly surprised at how the acid in lemon cuts through chocolate to raise the flavor up and make it more playful on the tongue. Chocolate Box topped the hot chocolate with a tangy, zingy lemon marshmallow that I can’t find. (Help!)
Follow Chocolate Box on Twitter to get updates on which hot chocolate flavor is featured each day!

I also was able to try three beautiful truffles, pictured above, from their shop. The truffle on the left is from a company called Moonstruck Chocolates. The one on the right is a currently unnamed mango chile truffle, and the bottom piece is a pure dark chocolate truffle (also unnamed).

Today, I will take my hand at describing these chocolates to you all, and why you need to try them!

the moon truffle

I ate this truffle way too quickly and it is my favorite of the bunch, so forgetting to take a photograph of it was inevitable.
There is a thick and dark chocolate outside shell that takes a gentle bite to break through. The ganache center, with a bright and citrus flavor alongside a peppery aroma, broke up the deepness of the outer shell. Once I started tasting the  ganache center, a kick of heat (maybe cayenne?) spread out and made the peppery aroma stronger. Overall, the balance of bright and spicy with richness and darkness left a creamy and nutty after taste.
5/5 – A great balanced piece of chocolate that utilizes one of my favorite chocolate combinations: chocolate and heat.

the mango-chile truffle

It left an impression on me right away. The dusted cacao powder is drying and thick, which made for an unexpected bite. I was greeted with a very slick and dense filling. The texture is hard to describe, but it reminds me of a very soft gumdrop. There was also grainy textures inside with a mid-level heat that is more of a background note than a flavor. The flavor of the center hits you before the outer shell does, which is dark but creamy. It also melts easily so the attention is entirely on this truffle’s unique center. Overall, a very sweet truffle; I would like to have felt the spice exaggerated a bit more, but it’s balanced.

2.5/5 – This truffle was large, which is a bonus. However, the unique textures in this truffle do not positively impact the experience. I feel as though this kind of light chile heat with a cheery fruit flavor is best done in a chutney. When paired with chocolate, one flavor needs to be exaggerated in order to prevent a lack of flavor.

the wrinkly truffle

It boasts a small, wrinkled appearance dusted in cacao powder. I bit into a very thin outer shell of smooth dark chocolate. Afterwards, it broke away to a slightly tart, sweet and fudgey ganache-like center. The tartness reminded me of a smooth greek yogurt, which gave this truffle a milky aftertaste. The tiny little nugget was the epitome of melt away flavors. Even swallowing the chocolate happened as I chewed on it, much like butter. This chocolate looks like dark chocolate but tastes as milky as a 45% cacao bar.

3/5 – The chocolate itself ended up being too milky for my taste, removing the flavor of rich chocolate. However, the experience of tasting a balanced and slightly tart dark chocolate was unique.

So, how was it for you? 😉
I know I had a good time.

My First Time: Chocolate Tasting

One thought on “My First Time: Chocolate Tasting

Leave a Reply

